Tuesday, August 17, 2010

California's Channel Islands

Located off the coast of Southern California, the Channel Islands of California form an archipelago that extends 160 miles along the Santa Barbara Channel. There are eight islands in the chain: San Clemente, Santa Catalina, San Nicolas, Santa Barbara, Santa Rosa, San Miguel, Anacapa, and Santa Cruz islands.

Historically, the islands were inhabited in the north by the Chumash and in the south by the Tongva. They were removed in the early 1800s and relocated to missions along the coast.

The islands are part of one of the most abundant biospheres in the world, with many unique species of plants and animals. Island foxes, island night lizards, Channel Island slender salamanders and a unique sub-species of Torrey Pines are amongst the many species that thrive there.

The five northern islands are part of Channel Islands National Park, and, except for Santa Catalina, which has the largest population, the other islands are managed by the federal government and conservation agencies.

1 comment:

bagoh20 said...

Thanks for the comment on my blog.

I love your photos, and I too am fascinated with historic California. I like to hike to historic sites in So. Cal., like abandoned mines, etc.

Keep it up with this stuff. I'll be back often now.